Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Framing Canada:
A Photographic Memory

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Essays

Aboriginal Peoples

Photograph of female and male Aboriginal students, nuns and two men outside an Indian residential school, circa 1890
Indian residential school students and nuns
Location unknown, ca. 1890
Photographer: H.J. Woodside
PA-123707
Source

Photography has been an active participant in the complicated relationship between the dominant Canadian culture and Aboriginal peoples. Photography's dual role, as both documentary instrument and art form, has led to the creation and perpetuation of some of the most lasting stereotypes. It is hoped that through contemporary eyes, these images will be questioned and perhaps recontextualized.

Photographers have sought opportunities to document the world's people and geography since the birth of photographic technology. Armed with the task of recording, photographers were along for the journey as Canada's geography was explored  --  whether by sea, as with some of the earliest images of Atlantic Canada and the Mi'kmaq people taken by French officer Paul-Émile Miot; or by land, such as the expedition photographs of the Assiniboine and Saskatchewan by Humphrey Lloyd Hime.

In tandem with the ethnographic applications of their medium, photographers were aware of its aesthetic powers in creating a record of those people they believed to be part of a "vanishing race." American photographer Edward S. Curtis created one of the largest initiatives of this type, the series entitled The North American Indian. Consisting of over 20 volumes of photogravures and accompanying text, the project contains portraits of individuals as well as views of daily life, taken in Aboriginal communities west of the Mississippi, on the Canadian west coast and in Arctic and sub-Arctic regions.

One of the darkest periods in Canada's relationship with Aboriginal peoples occurred when thousands of Aboriginal children were taken from their families and made to attend residential schools as part of a government initiative of forced assimilation into mainstream culture. The profound effects of this tragedy continue to the present day. The photographs of children in front of rural schoolhouses or posed in "before" and "after" portraits (showing their transformation from traditional clothing and hairstyles to Euro-Canadian attire) are some of the most tragic images in Library and Archives Canada's collection.

While it is clear that this period in the history of photography attests to some of the darkest moments for Aboriginal peoples, it likewise commemorates individuals and occasions worthy of celebration and pride. Among many others, the collection contains portraits of Gabriel Dumont and Louis Riel, Métis leaders of the Northwest Rebellion of 1885; Pauline Johnson, recognized as one of the first Aboriginal poets in Canada; and Tom Longboat, one of Canada's greatest athletes.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Vision photographique du Canada :
La mémoire d'une nation

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Essais

Peuples autochtones

Photo montrant des élèves autochtones, garçons et filles, ainsi que des religieuses et deux hommes à l'extérieur d'un pensionnat autochtone, vers 1890
Élèves et religieuses d'un pensionnat autochtone
Lieu inconnu, vers 1890
Photographe : H.J. Woodside
PA-123707
Source

La photographie a agit de façon importante dans les relations compliquées entre la collectivité canadienne dominante et les peuples autochtones. À la fois outil documentaire et forme d'art, la photographie a entraîné l'introduction et la transmission de stéréotypes des plus persistants. Il est à souhaiter que l'examen des photos dans une perspective contemporaine provoquera des remises en question et permettra de replacer les images dans leur contexte.

Depuis l'invention des techniques de photographie, les photographes ont cherché des occasions de produire des images des peuples et de la géographie du monde. Ainsi, chargés de documenter l'exploration des territoires du Canada, des photographes ont participé aux voyages d'exploration  --  soit par voie maritime comme l'a fait l'officier français Paul-Émile Miot, dont les photos comptent parmi les toutes premières du Canada atlantique et des Micmacs, soit par voie terrestre, comme l'a fait Humphrey Lloyd Hime, photographe de l'expédition pour explorer l'Assiniboine et la Saskatchewan.

Les photographes étaient conscients non seulement des applications ethnographiques de leur moyen d'expression, mais aussi de sa capacité esthétique à fournir de la documentation visuelle sur les peuples qu'ils croyaient membres d'une « race en voie de disparition ». Le photographe américain Edward S. Curtis a réalisé l'une des plus grandes initiatives de ce genre, la série The North American Indian. Regroupant plus de 20 volumes de photogravures accompagnées de textes, cette série comprend des portraits de personnes et des scènes de la vie quotidienne, pris dans des collectivités autochtones à l'ouest du Mississippi, sur la côte ouest du Canada et dans les régions subarctiques.

L'une des périodes les plus sombres de la relation entre le Canada et les Autochtones est celle où le gouvernement a retiré des milliers d'enfants autochtones de leur famille et les a faits fréquenter des pensionnats, dans le cadre d'une démarche visant à les forcer à s'assimiler à la culture dominante. Ce drame a eu de profondes répercussions, qui se font sentir encore aujourd'hui. Les photos de ces enfants devant les écoles rurales et leurs portraits pris avant et après leur transformation (où l'on voit qu'ils ont délaissé coiffures et vêtements traditionnels pour adopter une tenue euro-canadienne) comptent parmi les images les plus tragiques de la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Bien que cette période dans l'histoire de la photographie témoigne éloquemment des périodes difficiles vécues par les peuples autochtones, elle commémore aussi le souvenir de gens et d'événements qui méritent les honneurs et dont on peut être fier. La collection comprend entre autres des portraits de Gabriel Dumont et de Louis Riel, chefs métis de la Rébellion du Nord-Ouest de 1885, de Pauline Johnson, considérée comme l'un des premiers poètes autochtones du Canada, et de Tom Longboat, un des plus grands athlètes du Canada.