Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Preservation

Preservation Activities

Library and Archives Canada Audiovisual Migration Strategy

September, 2009

1. Introduction

Previous |Table of Contents | Next

The audiovisual recordings1 held by Library and Archives Canada (LAC) present a unique perspective of Canada's documentary heritage. LAC's collection comprises audiovisual recordings created by the music, film, radio and television industries, government, academic and cultural institutions as well as private individuals. These recordings, which span a range of communication technologies, document the artistic, cultural, linguistic, social and political diversity of Canada in the modern historical era.

As of 2008, LAC's collection contains an estimated 530,000 hours of published and unpublished audiovisual recordings that are stored on over 30 different analog and digital formats.2 The accessibility of the information contained on these formats is completely dependent on the availability of specialized playback technology. Due to the rapid pace of technological development in the audio and video industries, new equipment and formats are constantly entering the marketplace. Equipment is available only as long as a format has commercial viability and as older equipment is supplanted by new technology, the expertise to operate and repair machinery also vanishes.

Therefore, if all audiovisual recordings are inaccessible without playback machinery then long-term preservation must concentrate on preserving the content of a recording instead of focusing on the preservation of the original format.3 Migration offers the means of overcoming technological obsolescence through the digital transfer of content from its original hardware/software to a new file format that retains the ability to retrieve, display and use the information. In this specific context, the migration of audiovisual recordings to a standardized digital environment is the only way to assure continued preservation and continued access to their intellectual content.

The rationale for the development of a distinct migration strategy for the preservation of audiovisual recordings is based on the challenge of continuing to provide access over the long-term. This strategy identifies the principles and priorities to be employed to migrate LAC's audiovisual collection, offering a joint solution to preservation and access problems by stabilizing technological dependency through the creation of audio and video digital preservation masters in standardized file formats and the automated generation of digital access copies.


1 Bill C-36: The Library and Archives of Canada Act
(http://lois.justice.gc.ca/en/showtdm/cs/L-7.7//20091021) defines recording as anything that requires a machine in order to be used, regardless of format or medium.

2 See Appendix 10.1 for an overview of the formats and contents in LAC's audiovisual collection.

3 Exceptions should be made where a creator's choice of original format is a deliberate component of the artefactual value of a recording (for example, experimental video art).

Previous |Table of Contents | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Préservation

Des activités de préservation

Stratégie de migration des enregistrements audiovisuels de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Septembre, 2009

1. Introduction

Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant

Les enregistrements audiovisuels1 conservés par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) présentent une perspective unique du patrimoine documentaire du Canada. La collection de BAC comprend des enregistrements audiovisuels créés par les industries de la musique, du cinéma, de la radio et de la télévision, par le gouvernement et les établissements d'enseignement et culturels, ainsi que par des particuliers. Ces enregistrements englobent une gamme de technologies de communication et documentent la diversité artistique, culturelle, linguistique, sociale et politique du Canada à l'ère moderne.

En date de 2008, la collection de BAC contient quelque 530 000 heures d'enregistrements audiovisuels publiés et non publiés dans plus de 30 formats numériques et analogiques2. L'accessibilité de l'information dans ces formats dépend entièrement de la disponibilité de leur technologie de lecture. Étant donné le développement rapide des technologies dans les industries audio et vidéo, de nouveaux appareils et formats font constamment leur apparition sur le marché. Ces appareils ne sont disponibles que tant que le format est viable sur le plan commercial, et au fur et à mesure où les plus anciens appareils sont remplacés par la nouvelle technologie, l'expertise pour les utiliser et les réparer disparaît elle aussi.

Par conséquent, si tous les enregistrements audiovisuels sont inaccessibles sans leurs appareils de lecture, la préservation à long terme doit alors être axée sur la préservation du contenu d'un enregistrement plutôt que sur celle du format original3. La migration permet de contrer l'obsolescence de la technologie grâce au transfert numérique du contenu de son matériel/logiciel original à un nouveau format de fichier qui permet de récupérer, d'afficher et d'utiliser l'information. Dans ce contexte particulier, la migration des enregistrements audiovisuels vers un environnement numérique normalisé est le seul moyen d'assurer de façon continue la préservation et l'accès de leur contenu intellectuel.

La justification de l'élaboration d'une stratégie de migration distincte pour préserver les enregistrements audiovisuels repose sur le défi de continuer d'en permettre l'accès et la lecture à long terme. Dans cette stratégie, on définit les principes et les priorités à utiliser dans le cadre de la migration de la collection audiovisuelle de BAC, tout en offrant une solution commune aux problèmes liées à la préservation et à l'accès en stabilisant la dépendance à la technologie, et ce, grâce à la création de copies maîtresses audio et vidéo numériques à des fins de préservation dans des formats de fichier normalisés et à la production automatisée de copies numériques d'accès.


1 Projet de loi C-36 : La Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada
(http://lois.justice.gc.ca/fr/showtdm/cs/L-7.7) définit un enregistrement comme étant tout support d'information utilisable au moyen d'une machine, peu importe le format ou le support.

2 Voir l'annexe 10.1 pour obtenir un aperçu des formats et du contenu de la collection audiovisuelle de BAC.

3 On devrait toutefois prévoir des exceptions lorsque le format original qu'a choisi le créateur est un élément délibéré de la valeur artéfactuelle d'un enregistrement (par exemple, vidéo d'art expérimental).

Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant