Archives Search

Search only: Library, Archives Advanced Search, Ancestors, Images, Search All

To submit a comment, contact

Search Help

Warning: Descriptive record is in process. These materials may not yet be available for consultation.

Description found in Archives

Shellbrook Agency [textual record]. 

Series consists of



Place of creation

No place, unknown, or undetermined

0.32 m of textual records

Scope and content

Series consists of central registry files and an interest paylist and nominal roll created and/or maintained by the Shellbrook Agency.

Textual records
32: Restricted by law
Access restrictions may vary. Please con
sult the access list.
Archival reference no.
Former archival reference no.

Terms of use

Copyright belongs to the Crown.

Biography / Administrative history

The 1959 Annual Report of the Indian Affairs Branch is the first to refer to a Shellbrook Agency in Saskatchewan. At least some of the bands in its jurisdiction were administered previously by the Carlton Agency. In 1969, at the time of the merger of the Shellbrook Agency and the Duck Lake Agency to form the Saskatoon District, the bands being administered by the Shellbrook Agency included Big River, Pelican Lake, Mistawasis, Muskeg Lake, Sandy Lake, and Witchekan Lake. A separate Shellbrook Agency was re-established 1 January 1976 with responsibility for the Big River, Pelican Lake, Sandy Lake, and Witchekan Lake bands. The Shellbrook Agency was designated as a district effective 1 May 1986. In 1990 the Shellbrook District was dismantled and responsibility for the bands within its jurisdiction transferred to the Northwest District and the North Central District. Regional Administrative Histories, 1958-1990, (Bands, Agencies, Districts). Unpublished draft in the possession of the RG10 archivist, prepared by Peter Kiefl et al.

Additional information

Source of title
Title is based on the contents of the series.

Further accruals are expected.

Related materials
Related records may also be found in the following series: Saskatchewan Regional Office, North Central District Office, Shellbrook District Office, Saskatoon District Office and Prince Albert District Office.