Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement > Moving Here, Staying Here Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Moving Here, Staying Here. The Canadian Immigrant Experience


The Documentary TrailTraces of the PastFind an Immigrant
Introduction
Printed Advertisements
Immigrant Guides
Government Rules and Regulations
Travel Documents
Passenger Lists
Identity Files
Land Grants
Commissioned Photography
Immigrant Diaries and Memoirs

Passenger Lists

by Glenn Wright, Library and Archives Canada

In 1803, the British Parliament enacted legislation to regulate vessels carrying emigrants to North America. For the first time, the master of the vessel was required to prepare a list of passengers for deposit at the port of embarkation. The earliest lists recorded the name of the head of the household, and the number of adults and children in the family. For many years, children between the ages of one and twelve were counted as half an adult; those under age one, not at all. Since the size of the ship (registered tonnage) determined the maximum number of adult or "statute" adult passengers and the amount of provisions required for the voyage, accurate lists were both necessary and important.

Over the course of the 19th century the passenger list evolved and by 1860, the name, age, sex, occupation and national origin of all passengers was collected and recorded. From time to time, the format was amended; for example, in the 1890s, the form was redesigned to include information on the intended destination of immigrants. The form itself was prescribed by law, and shipping companies were responsible for ensuring that the lists were accurately prepared and deposited at the port of entry.

The lists were compiled for two main purposes: one, officials at ports of entry interviewed or inspected immigrants based on the information reported in the list to determine their suitability, health and prospects for successful settlement in Canada; two, the lists were the basis for various statistical reports prepared and published by the government. The government, anxious to know as much as possible about the people entering Canada, used the reports to develop settlement policies and advertising campaigns directed at potential immigrants.

In 1909, all passengers destined for Canada (including Canadians returning from abroad) were required to complete a personal history questionnaire. The questionnaire was used in conjunction with information recorded on the passenger list for inspection and reporting purposes. This "Canadian Declaration Form," commonly referred to as the "interrogatory" form, was revised and condensed in 1918 and became known as "Form 30A." The form was used for inspection purposes at ports of entry and a duplicate copy was sent to Ottawa for indexing purposes. People entering Canada from the United States at inland border crossings used a similar form, Form 30.

Form 30A was introduced on passenger vessels during 1919 and, until the end of 1920, both the form and the traditional passenger list were compiled. In January 1921, the passenger manifest (list) was discontinued because amendments to the Immigration Act required an even larger form. In its place, the government decided that the inspection of immigrants could be done from the information on Form 30A. At the same time, a small book-like index to passengers was compiled by the purser of the vessel. Officials were convinced that Form 30A would expedite the inspection and examination of immigrants, but actual practice proved otherwise. The experiment continued, however, until January 1925, when an enlarged sheet manifest form, based on similar American forms, was adopted; known as the "Canadian Government Return" (CGR), it would be used with the index book for all inspections and would continue to document immigrants until the early 1950s.

The passenger list and Form 30A documented the arrival of immigrants to Canada and contained personal information such as name, age, sex, occupation, religion, family and intentions. Initially created for reporting purposes, the list evolved over time and became the sole means of determining date of entry into Canada for purposes of naturalization. As more non-British immigrants arrived in Canada, the passenger list became a critical document because residency in Canada, a requirement for citizenship, was calculated from the date of arrival. For many immigrants, the passenger manifest was the only documented proof of their arrival. Officials in the Immigration Department used the lists for determining date of arrival in Canada; a brief annotation to the effect that a person has been naturalized years after arrival in Canada is often added to the relevant passenger list.

The passenger list is more than a list of names, however. It documents the voyage, a unique event in itself, and provides information about the name and size of the vessel, the shipping company, the name of the captain, and the date and port of departure and arrival. The list may also record other events that occurred during the voyage, including births, deaths and occasionally, a marriage. It identifies immigrants, especially Home Children and other special groups that were brought to Canada under the auspices of an emigration society, a church or other charitable organization.

The passenger list, initially conceived for administrative purposes, evolved into a quasi-legal document, valuable for both the immigrant and the government. It has since evolved further as an important source for family history and genealogy because it is the one record that documents the movement of people from the United Kingdom, Europe and elsewhere to begin a new life in Canada.


Introduction | Copyright/Sources | Comments

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation > Le vécu des immigrants English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière: Le vécu des immigrants. Immigrer et s'installer en terre canadienne


Trace documentaire des immigrantsLes vestiges du passéTrouver un immigrant
Introduction
Les imprimés publicitaires
Les guides et les manuels pour les immigrants
La réglementation gouvernementale
Les documents de voyage
Les listes de passagers
Les dossiers d'identité
Les concessions de terre
La photographie exécutée sur commande
Mémoires et journaux intimes d'immigrants

Les listes de passagers

par Glenn Wright, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

En 1803, le Parlement britannique décrète un ensemble de lois qui visent à réglementer le transport par bateau des immigrants vers l'Amérique du Nord. Pour la première fois, le maître du navire doit préparer une liste des passagers et la déposer au port d'embarquement. Sur les premières listes apparaissent le nom du chef de famille ainsi que le nombre d'adultes et d'enfants qui composent la famille. Pendant plusieurs années, les enfants de un à douze ans comptent comme demi-adulte, et ceux de moins de un an ne sont pas comptés. Dans la mesure où la taille du bateau (son tonnage déclaré) détermine le nombre maximum de passagers adultes ou ayant le « statut » d'adulte et la quantité de provisions requises pour la traversée, il est nécessaire et important de disposer de listes exactes.

Au cours du XIXe siècle, les listes se transforment et dès 1860, on enregistre le nom, l'âge, le sexe, l'occupation et l'origine de chacun des passagers. De temps en temps, on modifie le formulaire; ainsi, dans les années 1890, on y inclut la destination prévue des immigrants. Le formulaire lui-même est établit selon la loi, et il incombe aux compagnies maritimes de dresser des listes exactes et de les déposer au port d'arrivée.

La compilation des listes remplit deux fonctions : en premier lieu, les autorités interrogent et examinent les immigrants aux ports d'arrivée, selon les renseignements donnés sur la liste, et déterminent ainsi si leur candidature convient, s'ils sont en bonne santé, et s'ils ont des chances de s'installer avec succès au Canada; en second lieu, les listes servent de fondement à différents rapports statistiques que prépare et publie le gouvernement. Soucieux de disposer, dans la mesure du possible, du maximum d'informations au sujet des nouveaux arrivants, celui-ci utilise ces rapports pour établir des politiques de peuplement et des campagnes publicitaires destinées aux immigrants potentiels.

En 1909, on demande à tous les passagers à destination du Canada, y compris aux Canadiens qui reviennent de l'étranger, de répondre à un questionnaire sur leur histoire personnelle. Conjugué à l'information contenue dans la liste des passagers, le questionnaire sert à interroger les nouveaux venus et à établir des rapports. Ce « formulaire de déclaration canadien », communément appelé formulaire « de demande de renseignements », est revu et condensé en 1918. Il prend alors le nom de « formulaire 30A », et on l'utilise pour interroger les passagers aux ports d'arrivée. Une copie, envoyée à Ottawa, sert à produire des index. Les voyageurs qui arrivent au Canada par les États-Unis, en empruntant l'un des postes frontaliers à l'intérieur des terres, remplissent un formulaire semblable, le formulaire 30.

On a introduit l'utilisation du formulaire 30A sur les bateaux au cours de l'année 1919, et jusqu'à la fin de 1920, on compile à la fois les formulaires et les listes traditionnelles de passagers. En janvier 1921, on cesse de produire la liste des passagers car des amendements à la Loi sur l'immigration imposent l'utilisation d'un formulaire plus étendu. Le gouvernement décide donc que les immigrants seront interrogés à partir des renseignements portés au formulaire 30A. Au même moment, les commissaires de bord des navires compilent en un livret un index des noms de passagers. Les autorités pensaient qu'avec le formulaire 30A, les agents pourraient plus facilement interroger les candidats à l'immigration, mais la réalité se révèle autre. L'expérience se poursuit cependant jusqu'en janvier 1925. On adopte alors un plus grand formulaire inspiré du modèle américain, connu sous le nom de « Canadian Government Return » (CGR), qui est utilisé, avec les livres-index, pour procéder à tous les examens. Ce formulaire a servi à documenter l'arrivée des immigrants jusqu'au début des années 1950.

La liste des passagers et le formulaire 30A témoignent de l'arrivée des immigrants au Canada, et contiennent des informations personnelles telles que le nom, l'âge, le sexe, l'occupation, la religion, la famille et les intentions exprimées. À l'origine créée pour servir de rapport, cette liste est devenue avec le temps le seul moyen de déterminer la date d'entrée au Canada utilisé au moment de la naturalisation. Avec l'arrivée d'immigrants non Britanniques de plus en plus nombreux, cette liste devient capitale, car le nombre d'années passées par l'immigrant au Canada, information requise pour accéder à la citoyenneté, est calculé à partir de la date d'entrée au pays. Pour de nombreux immigrants, ce document est la seule preuve de leur arrivée, et les autorités du ministère de l'Immigration s'en servent à cette fin. Souvent, on note sur la liste des passagers appropriée, bien des années après son arrivée, la date à laquelle la personne a été naturalisée.

La liste des passagers n'est cependant pas qu'une simple liste de noms. Elle documente le voyage, événement en soi unique, et nous indique le nom et la taille du navire, la compagnie maritime, le nom du capitaine, la date et les ports de départ et d'arrivée. La liste peut aussi nous renseigner sur d'autres événements survenus durant le voyage, telles les naissances ou les morts, et occasionnellement, un mariage. Elle comporte l'identité des immigrants, notamment celle des petits immigrés et autres groupes particuliers venus au Canada sous l'égide d'une société d'immigration, d'une Église, ou de toute autre organisme de bienfaisance.

La liste des passagers, d'abord conçue pour des motifs administratifs, est devenue un document quasi légal, aussi précieux pour l'immigrant que pour le gouvernement. Depuis, il est une ressource importante pour retracer l'histoire des familles et les généalogies, car c'est le seul document qui témoigne de la migration des peuples partis du Royaume-Uni, d'Europe ou ailleurs pour commencer une nouvelle vie au Canada.


Introduction | Droits d'auteur/Sources | Commentaires