Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

HÉTU, JACQUES, 1938-
MUS 279


Jacques Hétu fonds.  - 1929-1997.  - 2.30 m of textual records.  - 70 photographs.  - 46 audio tape reels.  - 67 audio cassettes.  - 7 videocassettes. 

Biographical sketch
Born in Trois-Rivières, Quebec, Jacques Hétu began his musical studies at the University of Ottawa which included the study of Gregorian chant with Father Jules Martel.  He continued his training at the Conservatoire de musique du Québec à Montréal from 1956 to 1961 where his courses included composition and counterpoint with Clermont Pépin, harmony with Isabelle Delorme and fugue with Jean Papineau-Couture.  In the summer of 1959, he enrolled in Lukas Foss's composition course at the Berkshire Music Center, Tanglewood, Massachusetts.  Thanks to the Prix d'Europe, the Quebec Music Festivals prize and a Canada Council grant, the young artist left for Paris in 1961 to study composition with Henri Dutilleux at the École normale de musique (1961-63) and analysis with Olivier Messiaen at the Conservatoire de Paris (1962-63).  Those very fruitful years of learning enabled him to refine his writing techniques and produced several works including two symphonies, a Prélude for orchestra (Opus 5) and a Trio for flute, oboe and harpsichord (Opus 3, No. 2). 

In 1963, Jacques Hétu returned to Canada and embarked on his teaching career at the Université Laval (1963-77), where he taught music literature, analysis, orchestration and composition.  He began teaching at the Université du Québec à Montréal in 1979 and also became the director of its music department from 1980 to 1982 and from 1986 to 1988.  In both 1972 and 1978, Hétu was also invited to teach composition courses at the Université de Montréal. 

A world-reputed artistic talent, Hétu was commissioned to compose numerous works, including Fantaisie for piano and orchestra (Institut international de musique du Canada, 1973), Les Djinns (Alliance chorale canadienne, 1975), Antinomie (National Arts Centre Corporation, 1977), Mirages (Orchestre des jeunes du Québec, 1981), Images de la révolution (Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, 1988) and the Sonate pour treize instruments (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, 1996).  In 1990, the composer accompanied Pinchas Zukerman and Ottawa's National Arts Centre Orchestra on a major European tour during which they performed his Symphonie no 3 and the work Antimonie.  Following a 1994 concert featuring Le Tombeau de Nelligan, François Tousignant wrote:  "...the tones that Hétu brings out in the orchestra shimmer with a modernism that could be a lesson to many who emulate inventive sound combinations in orchestral arrangements" [translation] (Le Devoir, 29 November 1994).  An eclectic composer, Hétu rose above the divergent musical trends and brought us richly toned lyrical music. 

Scope and content
The fonds comprises records concerning Jacques Hétu's activities as a composer and educator.  In addition, the records pertaining to the musical works and the many sound recordings illustrate the interest shown in his works by both the music community and the public. 

Among othe items, the fonds contains biographical records; correspondence; contracts; musical works; course notes; exercises; certificates; examination questions; radio and conference texts; concert programmes; programme notes; analyses of works; posters; press clippings; photographs mainly of Jacques Hétu and other artists; and sound recordings primarily of Jacques Hétu's works.  

The fonds includes the following series:  MUS 279/A Studies; MUS 279/B Teaching and Administration; MUS 279/C Musical Works; MUS 279/D Files Pertaining to Musical Works; MUS 279/E Conference and Radio Texts; MUS 279/F Photographs; MUS 279/H Sound recordings; MUS 279/I Miscellaneous. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Jacques Hétu in two accessions in 1997. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  Stéphane Jean.  The Jacques Hétu fonds:  Numerical List.  Ottawa:  National Library of Canada.  1999.  90 p.
(www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/music/index-e.html#fonds). 

Accruals:  further accessions expected. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

HÉTU, JACQUES, 1938-
MUS 279


Fonds Jacques-Hétu.  - 1929-1997.  - 2,30 m de documents textuels.  - 70 photographies.  - 46 bandes sonores.  - 67 cassettes sonores.  - 7 vidéocassettes. 

Notice biographique
Né à Trois-Rivières (Québec), Jacques Hétu débute ses études musicales à l'Université d'Ottawa dont l'étude du chant grégorien avec le père Jules Martel.  De 1956 à 1961, il poursuit sa formation au Conservatoire de musique du Québec à Montréal où il suit, entre autres, des cours de composition et de contrepoint avec Clermont Pépin, d'harmonie avec Isabelle Delorme et de fugue avec Jean Papineau-Couture.  À l'été 1959, il s'inscrit au cours de composition de Lukas Foss au Berkshire Music Center, Tanglewood, Massachusetts.  Grâce au Prix d'Europe, au prix des Festivals de musique du Québec et à une bourse du Conseil des Arts du Canada, le jeune artiste part pour Paris en 1961 où il travaille la composition avec Henri Dutilleux à l'École normale de musique (1961-63) ainsi que l'analyse avec Olivier Messiaen au Conservatoire de Paris (1962-63).  Ces années d'apprentissage sont très fructueuses puisqu'elles lui permettent de raffiner ses techniques d'écriture et donnent aussi naissance à plusieurs oeuvres dont deux symphonies, un Prélude pour orchestre (opus 5) et un Trio pour flûte, hautbois et clavecin (opus 3, no 2). 

Jacques Hétu revient au pays en 1963 et il entame sa carrière d'enseignant à l'Université Laval (1963-77) où il donne des cours de littérature musicale, d'analyse, d'orchestration et de composition.  Depuis 1979, il enseigne à l'Université du Québec à Montréal où il assume également les fonctions de directeur du département de musique de 1980 à 1982 ainsi que de 1986 à 1988.  En 1972 et en 1978, Hétu est aussi invité par l'Université de Montréal pour y donner des cours de composition. 

Artiste au talent reconnu à travers le monde, Hétu compose de nombreuses oeuvres sur commande dont la Fantaisie pour piano et orchestre (Institut international de musique du Canada, 1973), Les Djinns (Alliance chorale canadienne, 1975), Antinomie (National Arts Centre Corporation, 1977), Mirages (Orchestre des jeunes du Québec, 1981), Images de la révolution (Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, 1988) et la Sonate pour treize instruments (réseau anglais de la Société Radio-Canada, 1996).  En 1990, le compositeur accompagne Pinchas Zukerman lors d'une importante tournée européenne avec l'Orchestre du Centre national des arts d'Ottawa et y présente sa Symphonie no 3 ainsi que l'oeuvre Antinomie.  En 1994, suite à un concert où figure Le Tombeau de Nelligan, François Tousignant écrit : «.  .  .  les sonorités qu'Hétu va chercher dans l'orchestre sont d'un modernisme chatoyant et peuvent donner des leçons à de nombreux émules de traités d'orchestration en ce qui concerne l'invention de combinaisons sonores» (Le Devoir, 29 novembre 1994).  Compositeur éclectique, Hétu transcende les divergences des courants musicaux et nous livre une musique lyrique aux riches sonorités. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds est constitué de documents qui témoignent des activités de compositeur de Jacques Hétu et de ses activités de pédagogue.  Les documents relatifs aux oeuvres musicales ainsi que les nombreux enregistrements sonores illustrent de plus l'intérêt du milieu musical et du public pour l'oeuvre de Hétu. 

Le fonds renferme, entre autres, des documents biographiques; de la correspondance; des contrats; des oeuvres musicales; des notes de cours; des exercices; des certificats; des questionnaires d'examens; des textes radiophoniques et de conférences; des programmes de concerts; des notes de programmes; des analyses d'oeuvres; des affiches; des coupures de presse; des photographies représentant principalement Jacques Hétu ainsi que divers artistes; et des enregistrements sonores composés principalement d'oeuvres de Jacques Hétu. 

Le fonds comprend les séries suivantes :  MUS 279/A Études; MUS 279/B Enseignement et administration; MUS 279/C Oeuvres musicales; MUS 279/D Dossiers relatifs aux oeuvres musicales; MUS 279/E Conférences et textes radiophoniques; MUS 279/F Photographies; MUS 279/H Enregistrements sonores; MUS 279/I Varia. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis et de Jacques Hétu en deux versements en 1997. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  Stéphane Jean.  Le Fonds Jacques-Hétu : répertoire numérique.  Ottawa :  Bibliothèque nationale du Canada.  1999.  94 p. 
(www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/musique/index-f.html#fonds). 

Versements complémentaires :  autres versements attendus. 



Divulgation proactive