Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Men working in a forest.
Burning Fallen Trees in A Girdled Clearing.

Upper Canada Land Board (1765-1804)


In 1789, what is now the Province of Ontario was part of Quebec. It was divided into four districts: Hesse, Luneburg, Mecklenburg and Nassau. The Land Boards were created in 1789 to oversee land matters and facilitate settlement in the four districts. This research tool includes more than 16,400 references to the Upper Canada Land Board records.